top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturewalkwater

The Plan Forward

Updated: Aug 8, 2020

Cleanup Q. Hikes on YouTube more. Make videos on how I tie laces, & Garmin eTrex 22x. Try use eTrex to setup routes/tracks, elev.profiles & upload .gpx files.


2020aug02sun


*


OK. Looks like wix and YouTube are now more or less sorted, at least as far as the major day-hikes are concerned. Took some doing figuring out how it all would work in the end. Fairly happy with the results. Still not sure what to do with Harkerville, though, being a multi-day hike.


Do I combine the distances over the two days? How should I compare the exertion to that of an ordinary day-hike? Do I treat it as two separate day-hikes? Should I develop a separate rating system for multi-day hikes? Should I bother at all? I don't really do multi-hikes all that often anyway, and neither do the hikers in the groups with which I'm involved. I think I'll just leave it.


Just figured out I can leave out the "your" in "(your dependents')" in the indemnity statement.


You'd be surprised how many hikers have to re-tie their laces multiple times on a hike.


I think I might be able to setup some .gpx routes on the eTrex without actually having to go do the hikes again. First have to work through and study the owner's manual, though. Then I might be able to get better data for the exertion and danger ratings, and update the spreadsheet. I might even do a video on this process as well, once I know my way around better.


Ordered 4 AA Nickle-Metal-Hydride cells and a charger for the eTrex for only R199 on discount from Takealot today. Looks like the best deal around. The eTrex takes two AAs. The other two will be backup.


Then... Get new spiky-grip shoes, and a new 80l pack... and then I might be readier to hike more professionally than I've been in ever. Will have to wait until I can go to the shops again, though. I don't want to buy such essential gear over the internet - especially not shoes.


Oh! ...And a slide-on pocket clip for the eTrex from Kloppers. I looked online. They don't have. I have to go in to the store.


OK. Here we are. Let's see how this goes on from here...

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Two Types of People

Knowing that neither know what they're doing, doesn't give anyone the right to get themselves or others into trouble by being impatient.

Comments


bottom of page